Thursday, March 31, 2011

"Waiting On" Wednesday (15)

Plague by Michael Grant

This is a blood-pumping, white-knuckle sci-fi thriller of epic proportions. 

The FAYZ goes from bad to worse...The darkness has been foiled once again and the resurrected Drake has been contained. But the streets of Perdido Beach are far from safe, with a growing army of mutants fighting against the humans for power in the town. In a small room of a house near the edge of town, Little Pete lies ill on a bed. In his fevered dreams, he continues his battle with the hidden evil that seeks to use his power to bring about anarchy and destruction.

This is the fourth book in the GONE series.

Release Date: April 1, 2o11

I don't know if you are excited as I am, but Plague comes out tomorrow!!!!!! :D

This series is one of my all-time favorites, and I absolutely cannot wait to read the fourth (out of six) book in the series. I already have this ARC, but I'm currently re-reading the first three books to refresh my memory.

If you haven't checked out this series, DO IT!!!! NOWW!!!!!!!!

I love these books so much, I can't even describe it.

I haven't met anyone else who really loves this series, or even read the books for that matter. So if you have, please comment below and tell me what you thought of them!

What are you "waiting on"?

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

Pages: 332
Publisher: Little, Brown
Age Group: Young Adult (Mature Readers)
Challenges: N/A
Release Date: November 2, 2o1o

Some schools have honor codes.

Others have handbooks.
Themis Academy has the Mockingbirds.

Themis Academy is a quiet boarding school with an exceptional student body that the administration trusts to always behave the honorable way--the Themis Way. So when Alex is date raped during her junior year, she has two options: stay silent and hope someone helps her, or enlist the Mockingbirds--a secret society of students dedicated to righting the wrongs of their fellow peers.

In this honest, page-turning account of a teen girl's struggle to stand up for herself, debut author Daisy Whitney reminds readers that if you love something or someone--especially yourself--you fight for it.

Stars: 5/5
Cover: A-

I didn't know what to expect when I started The Mockingbirds. I just thought it'd be an everyday contemporary fiction read, with a little bit of fluff. Boy, was I wrong. The Mockingbirds was an edgy, thought-provoking novel that had you biting your nails in anticipation.

I liked how Daisy Whitney didn't hold back or censor her story, and how readers got to "experience" something most of us have never had to go through.

Alex had such a strong voice, and I loved it. She really stood up for herself, and provided to be a good example for girls. 

I felt the anger that Alex felt, especially towards Carter. I love books that make me feel what the main character feels, because it really puts me more into the story.

Daisy Whitney has such an addicting way of writing. I read this book in almost one sitting, and I couldn't put it down for the life of me. It's rare to come across a book that has such an impact on me as this one did, but Daisy Whitney managed to leave me thinking about this book for days after I finished it.

One thing that I couldn't get off of my mind was that girls are date-raped all of the time, and some never speak up, allowing their attacker to get away with what they did, and possibly victimize another girl. Daisy Whitney put across a fantastic message that if this does happen to you, speak up, and don't stay silent.

Just judging by the ending of The Mockingbirds, you wouldn't be able to guess that there would be a sequel, but I'm really excited to know that there will be. I like the way the things were left in the first book, but I am excited to see where Daisy Whitney will take things in the sequel.

I like how different the cover is, and how it's not like your typical YA book. It really stands out, and it's one of those books that you can't mix up with any others, which I like.

Lovely Line:
She takes a sip of her tea, then adds, "Don't think this is crazy, but you're kind of doing this for all of us. That's how I see it, at least. You're doing it for all of us who didn't speak up, who were afraid. And I know you're going to make this place better for the girls who come after us. It'll be safer. Guys will think twice."

"I hope so," I say, thinking briefly of what that day later this month will bring and of how a girl who just wanted to play the piano became a lightening rod for an issue.

But it's clear that I am.
(Page 234)

The Final Verdict:
This is one of those books that just about everyone needs to read. It carries such a great message, and has a really strong impact on its readers.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Hey, Guys!

Just a little update. ;)

I wanted to apologize for not posting anything in a couple of days. I have Spring Break (I know, really early in the year, right?) and I haven't been home at all, so it's hard for me to write the reviews (and I'm also reading pretty slow, because I'm doing a lot of other things with family and such).

I'm not doing an In My Mailbox post this week because I got a TON of fantastic books, but some are at home, and I'm just going to wait to do it until next week (so look forward to an awesome IMM video next Thursday!)

Since I'm not doing IMM, I won't be posting a "Waiting On" Wednesday, either. I have this weird thing where I like to have the memes have the same numbers, and if I do a WoW this week, and not an IMM, then there will be one more WoW post than IMM.

Weird, right? :P

So, I'm going to take the rest of the Spring Break off from posting anything, and use it for a time to get ahead on reading, but I'll be back bright and early Monday morning.

I still check the blog daily, and try to read and respond to all of your comments.

If you want to get in contact with me, I also check this email everyday:
thecoverreviews AT hotmail DOT com

Thanks, everyone, and have a fantastic rest of your week!
Looking forward to "seeing" you all Monday. :D


p.s.: Have you entered in the 100 follower giveaway yet? The link is at the top of my page. ;)

Saturday, March 19, 2011

The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder

Pages: 240
Publisher: Graphia
Age Group: Young Adult
Challenges: Debut Author Challenge
Release Date: April 4, 2011

At Penford High School, Britney Taylor is the queen bee. She dates whomever she likes, rules over her inner circle of friends like Genghis Khan, and can ruin anyone's life with a snap of perfectly manicured fingers. Just ask the unfortunate few who have crossed her.   

For April Bowers, Britney is also the answer to her prayers. April is so unpopular, kids don't even know she exists. But one lunch spent at Britney's table, and April is basking in the glow of popularity.   But Britney's friendship comes with a high price tag. How much is April willing to pay?

Stars: 3.5/5
Cover: A-

I was really excited to start The Lipstick Laws. I'd heard mixed reviews about it, and how it was similar to the movie Mean Girls. I didn't know whether or not I would like this book, but I am pleased to say that I did.

I read this book in practically one sitting, and it was an extremely fast-paced and entertaining read. It held my attention the entire time, and I really like the whole idea of the mean girl having to try to make things right to the people she's wronged.

I thought Britney was horrible, but I mean that in the best way possible, based on her character. She was bitchy, inconsiderate, and acted superior to all of her classmates.  She was the perfect mean girl, and she really thought she was untouchable.

I loved how much character development there was in this book. April changed a lot through the book, and I love how she took the initiative to stand up to the girls that did her wrong and completely humiliated her.

The Lipstick Laws was a really easy, but enthralling, read. I didn't want to stop reading it, so I read it in two sittings. 

The story flowed nicely, and I really think Amy Holder is an awesome author. 

I thought the ending was suuuper cute. I love who April ends up with (especially since I didn't entirely expect it). I love the person April is at the end of the book, where she's happy with herself and has a great group of TRUE friends by her side, and a great boyfriend. I thought the ending was endearing. The message that I got out of the ending is just be yourself, and you'll find your true friends.

The cover's cute. I like how girly it is, and yet there is something about it that screams "fierce" to me, which I love.

Lovely Line:
I glance over at Brianna, who's grinding her teeth with spite.

"Hopefully you're not keeping anything from us. 'Cause we can kick you out any time," Britney warns. "So, I'd strongly suggest that you follow all of the laws all of the time. If you do that, we'll be your BFFs."

"Best friends forever?" I asked, feeling relieved.

"No, April! Unconditional acceptance leads to letting yourself go. We'll be your best friends 'till you F up!" she barks. Gulp. I feel my heart pounding out of my chest. Yes, it's a fact; I have sealed the deal. I stamped, certified, and lipsticked my life in a package sen through Priority Mail directly to the devil herself . . . and there's no turning back.
(Page 61)

The Final Verdict:
almost gave it four stars, except for the fact that it wasn't a very memorable read. I still thoroughly enjoyed it, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice read with a good message.

FTC: Bought.

Friday, March 18, 2011


I will be choosing a winner at 8 P.M. (Pacific Time) on April 4, 2011.

1st Place Winner:
Signed Prophecy of the Sisters/Guardian of the Gate bookmark
Signed Shadow Hills bookmark
Signed A Touch Mortal sticker
Signed Angelfire bookmark

Choose between:
Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Matched by Allie Condie
Across The Universe by Beth Revis

2nd Place Winner:
Signed Forget Her Nots bookmark
Signed Angelfire sticker
Signed A Touch Mortal bookmark
Before I Fall bookmark

Thanks for being a follower, and good luck!

DISCLAIMER: None of your information will be shared. I will choose the winners randomly using All of your information will be deleted once the giveaway is over. 

If you win, I will e-mail you. If you don't respond to my e-mail within three days, I will choose a new winner.

I bought these books myself, and the swag (bookmarks) is from Zoe @ Zoe's Book Reviews.

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Pages: 391
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Group: Young Adult
Challenges: 350 Page Challenge
Release Date: October 13, 2009

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her...until Patch comes along. 

With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel. 

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Stars: 5/5
Cover: A

I didn't really think I'd like this book. I thought it would just be about a girl falling in love with this bad-ass fallen angel, but Hush, Hush turned out to be sooo much more. It was creepy, suspenseful, steamy, and extremely addicting.

I stayed up late on a Friday night to finish it, and spent a good couple of hours in the morning reading it. I was so sad when I was forty pages away and had to leave my book for a softball game. I rarely feel like the world will end when I stop reading a book, so that says something.

Hush, Hush had me hooked from the absolute beginning. There were a lot of great unexpected turns in the plot, and I really like the angle Fitzpatrick took to angels, and the way she put a twist on it.

Nora was awesome. I loved reading from her perspective.

I have to admit, at first I hated patch. He was cocky, arrogant, and thought he knew everything. I also didn't like the fact that Nora was so attracted to him, because if anyone acted the way he did, the LAST thing I would do would be attracted to him.

But, I admit, as the book wore on, I fell in love with Patch. I don't know if he changed, or he just grew on me, but by the end of the book, I was swooning.

Becca Fitzpatrick completely sucked me into her book. Her writing was addicting, and it flowed really smoothly. She built suspense seamlessly, and even though the book was nearly four hundred pages, it was really fast paced.

The ending was perfect! It stayed exciting right up until the very end, and now I can't wait to get my hands on a copy of the next book in the series, Crescendo.

Now that I know what was going on, I really want to re-read the story and match up what I know now to what I didn't know back then.

The cover is just soo pretty. :) It has a metallicy shine, and I love the cover art. The angel losing its' wing feathers signifies a lot for the story, and I love that near the top of the book, the feathers turn to red.

Lovely Line:
He stayed put, eyeing me, considering.

"Why are you looking at me like that?" I challenged.

He tipped forward, preparing to stand. "Because you're nothing like what I expected."

"Neither are you," I countered. "You're worse."
(Page 80)

The Final Verdict:
I've had this book sitting on my shelf since around Christmas time, and I wish I had started it sooner. It was a fantastic opening to the series, and I can't wait to read everything else Becca Fitzpatrick writes.

FTC: Bought

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

"Waiting On" Wednesday (14)

From Bad To Cursed by Katie Alender

Alexis is the last girl you'd expect to sell her soul for beauty and popularity. After all, she already has everything she needs--an adorable boyfriend, the perfect best friend, and a family that finally seems to be healing after her sister Kasey's unfortunate possession by an evil spirit.

But then Kasey tells Alexis about the mysterious new club she has joined, and the oath she has taken to someone named Aralt. Worried that Kasey's gotten in over her head again, Alexis and her best friend Megan decide to investigate by joining the Sunshine Club, too. At first, their connection with Aralt seems harmless. Alexis tries a new -- normal-- look, and finds herself reveling in her elegance and success.

Still, despite the Sunshine Club's outward perfection, the group is crumbling from within, and soon Alexis finds herself battling her own personal demons. She can hardly even remember why she joined in the first place. Surely it wasn't to destroy Aralt...why would she hurt someone who has given her so much, and asked for so little in return?

Release Date: June 14, 2011

When I finished the first book, Bad Girls Don't Die (which I LOVED, by the way), I had NO clue there was going to be a sequel. 

So, when I came across this book on Goodreads, I'm pretty sure I screamed. Repeatedly.

Anyways, I can't wait to continue with Alexis's story.


Tuesday, March 15, 2011

XVI by Julia Karr

Pages: 325
Publisher: Speak
Age Group: Young Adult
Challenges: Debut Author Challenge
Release Date: January 7, 2011

Nina Oberon's life is pretty normal: she hangs out with her best friend, Sandy, and their crew, goes to school, plays with her little sister, Dee. But Nina is 15. And like all girls she'll receive a Governing Council-ordered tattoo on her 16th birthday. XVI. Those three letters will be branded on her wrist, announcing to all the world—even the most predatory of men—that she is ready for sex. Considered easy prey by some, portrayed by the Media as sluts who ask for attacks, becoming a "sex-teen" is Nina's worst fear. 

That is, until right before her birthday, when Nina's mom is brutally attacked. With her dying breaths, she reveals to Nina a shocking truth about her past—one that destroys everything Nina thought she knew. Now, alone but for her sister, Nina must try to discover who she really is, all the while staying one step ahead of her mother's killer.

Stars: 4/5
Cover: A

XVI was not what I expected, but I mean that in the best way possible. I was expecting just a dystopian novel, but Julia Karr incorporated suspense and romance into her book, too. I liked that, because she didn't focus on the dystopian aspect of it; it felt like I was reading a mystery/suspense novel set in a dystopian society (if that makes sense).

The beginning of the book started off strong, and ended strong, but I feel like the middle of the book fell a little flat. By the last 100 pages though, it really started to pick up, and I read the last part of the book in just one sitting.

Nina was a great MC. She was reasonable, realistic, and likable. I loved how strong she was, because I don't think I could have done or gone through a lot of what she did, and still be okay afterwards.

Nina's little sister, Dee, was adorable in a naive way. Their grandparents were cute, too. They were loving, supportive, and protective. I loved the connection they all had with each other.

Ed was a fantastic villain. He was big, powerful, and super-scary. His character sent chills down my spine.

The way Julia Karr writes is perfectly for the dystopian genre. She pays a lot of attention to detail, and puts a lot of it in the story (without it being too overwhelming) so the futuristic society she created became extremely realistic.

She's also really talented at building suspense and mystery, and weaving those themes into the book. For a lot of scenes in the book (especially towards the end) I was practically holding my breath in suspense. 

I think the book ended in the right spot in the storyline. XVI was exciting right up until the very end, and the wrap-up in the last few pages didn't feel too rushed.

I love the cover to XVI. It's so eye-catching, and pretty in a dramatic way.

Lovely Line:
I heard him scuffling through the pile of debris I'd thrown in front of the door. Every inch of me wanted to scream, to run, to do something . . . but I waited, clenching the pipe tighter and tighter until my hands hurt.
(Page 307)

The Final Verdict:
XVI is a wonderful dystopian/suspense novel that will keep you thoroughly entertained. Definitely read this book, and keep your eyes peeled for any other books that Karr writes!

FTC: Bought

Saturday, March 12, 2011

My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

Pages: 279
Publisher: Harlequin
Age Group: Young Adult
Challenge: N/A
Release Date: August 1, 2009

She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. 

And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally. 

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next.

Stars: 4/5
Cover: A-

My Soul To Take had me hooked. I felt like the beginning was kind of slow, but once the book started picking up, I couldn't put it down. The book was creepy, suspenseful, and well-paced. 

I really like the story line and the originality. I mean, I've never read a story about banshees and reapers like this, so it was a really refreshing book.

I felt like Kaylee was an awesome MC. I loved being inside her head, and she told the story seamlessly. 

I liked Kaylee and Nash together, but I felt like their relationship got really intense in just a few days --- so much so that it was unrealistic.

Rachel Vincent really has a way with words. My Soul To Take was seamless in the way that she wove romance into suspense/paranormal.

I love the descriptions that Rachel incorporated into it, but without taking me out of the story to do so. I felt like I was experiencing everything Kaylee was, and seeing everything that she was, too.

I am disappointed that it took me so long to actually start the series!

I realllllly didn't want this book to end, but I feel like Rachel Vincent ended it in the perfect place: right after the action, but right before something else is going to happen, so that you'll want to read more.

I have the second book already on order. :)

Lovely Line:
And then I saw her. Second from the left, three down from Sophie. A tall, slender girl with honey-brown hair and heavily lashed eyes.

Meredith Cole. The team captain. Shrouded in a shadow so thick I could barely make out her features. 

As soon as my eyes found her, my throat began to burn, like I'd inhaled bleach fumes. Devastation drenched me, threatening to pull me beneath the surface of despair. and that familiar dark knowledge left me shivering where I sat. Meredith Cole would die very, very soon.
(Page 71)

The Final Verdict:
I have a new favorite series, and a new favorite author. Rachel Vincent completely captured me with her words and left me wanting more.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants a book to take them out of their reality and into a suspenseful, make-believe world.

FTC: Bought.